Disclaimer: We may earn affiliate commissions if you decide to purchase through our links. For more details read our. Affiliate Disclaimer and Ownership Disclosure.

ExpressVPN Review for Canadian Users 2022: Safest, Fastest and Worth the Price!

Last updated: September 26, 2022
Liza Woods

Liza Woods

ExpressVPN is one of the fastest VPNs in the marketplace. It's BVI jurisdiction is excellent, and usage of RAM infrastructure along with virtual servers is smart. It also unblocks Netflix and works in China. To go the extra mile, ExpressVPN even offers rare features like Split Tunneling, WireGuard support and more.

Is ExpressVPN actually good in Canada? Yes, despite the huge competition ExpressVPN is actually good and remains a top-tier VPN product in Canada because of its feature-packed application for all platforms, incredible connection speeds across the board, security features,  and a pro-privacy stance—making ExpressVPN worth it.

In this ExpressVPN Review, we will tell you what is ExpressVPN, how it works, what features are offered by ExpressVPN, and if it is really the safest, fastest, and worth the price. So without any further ado, let’s read this ExpressVPN Review.

ExpressVPN-Review-ca

ExpressVPN Review: Features – Updated September 2022

Jurisdiction British Virgin Islands
Price CA$8.6/mo. (US$6.67/mo.) (CA$128.94 for 1-Year + 3 Months Free)
Servers 3,000+ Servers in 94+ Countries
Logs No Logs Certified
Encryption AES-256-CBC
Unblocks Netflix Yes
Torrenting Yes
Works in China Yes
Recommended  Yes
Website https://www.expressvpn.com/
Compatibility Windows, Android, Apple, Chrome, Firefox, FireTV

Founded in 2009, ExpressVPN is headquartered in the infamous and privacy-friendly British Virgin Islands and registered under the name of ExpressVPN Technologies Ltd. Originally, the software is advertised as a security and privacy protection tool that encrypts internet traffic and masks users’ IP addresses.

ExpressVPN’s location is free from any invasive mass surveillance and data retention laws found common in countries part of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliances. This increases its credibility and protects its service from undue tinkering by the law authorities elsewhere.

With a global server network of 3000+ servers in 94+ countries and 3 server locations in Canada alone, ExpressVPN ensures impenetrable encryption via AES-256 bit encryption and modern protocols. It is also backed with an audited no-logs policy which means it never logs your real IP, the VPN servers you connect to, connection timestamp, or session durations.

ExpressVPN is termed as the best VPN to perform crypto-trading without any difficulty for Canadian users. You can also use ExpressVPN to use the Binance platform to perform crypto trading and exchange.

Combined with top-notch security features like split tunneling and automatic kill switch enhance ExpressVPN’s position as a secure VPN. Moreover, ExpressVPN is compatible with all major devices in Canada like Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Linux, routers, game consoles, and Smart TVs.

ExpressVPN Review: Pros and Cons


Pros

  • Global server network
  • Military-grade encryption standard
  • Efficient real-time customer support
  • Effortlessly unblocks popular streaming platforms
  • Dedicated apps for iOS, Android, Windows, Linux, Kindle, and routers

Cons

  • Slightly more expensive than other VPNs
  • Only 5 simultaneous device connections


Directly check the subscription plans and ExpressVPN free trial hack!

ExpressVPN Review: What’s New on ExpressVPN?

Editor’s Note: Since our latest testing in 2022, ExpressVPN has made several noteworthy updates.

June 2022: Announces server upgrades and transitions from 1Gbps servers to 10Gbps servers worldwide. A notable update to its capable network for faster and more reliable connections.

June 2022: Removes Indian-based servers to reject the data-storing demands in India. Users can still connect using the virtual servers for India.

April 2022: Beta testing ExpressVPN Keys, the integrated password manager available in each app and the Chrome browser extension. You can help improve the product by signing up as a beta tester on some platforms without having to install anything.

March 2022: ExpressVPN’s Windows app receives a green signal from F-secure (a third-party cybersecurity firm) after a rigorous 1-month assessment. The app is free of vulnerabilities regarding IP address leaks, information disclosure, or other security concerns.

More than that, ExpressVPN has released other appealing features. For instance, Threat Manager is a recently-introduced feature that blocks malware-infected websites, malicious ads, and trackers. As of now, it is available on Mac, Linux, and iOS—however other platforms can expect its release.

The Parallel Connections feature ensures that ExpressVPN connects within a second in most cases. ExpressVPN has several methods for establishing a connection but earlier, it sequentially tried them till one finally establishes a connection. With Parallel Connections, the apps try all methods at the same time to ensure a successful connection in under a second. For now, the feature is only available on iOS but it’s in the works for other platforms.

Besides the recent additions, some features have also been removed from the ExpressVPN Windows app such as the built-in speed test and L2TP and IKEv2 protocol support. You can now cancel your account from within the iOS app, which is a huge usability advancement.

ExpressVPN releases updates quite often (after every 10 days or so), unlike other companies that go months and even years without an update. This proves how good is ExpressVPN!

Price: What are the ExpressVPN Pricing Plans? And is there any Free Trial Offer?

ExpressVPN has three subscription plans in Canada starting from CA$8.6/mo ($6.67/mo) for a 1-year plan, CA$12.89 ($9.99) for a 6-month plan, and CA$16.71 ($12.95) for a 1-month plan. Every ExpressVPN subscription plan in Canada is backed with a 30-day money-back guarantee, letting you try the service risk-free.

subscription-plans-expressvpn-ca

Current subscription plans for ExpressVPN.

For further clarity, here’s a quick review of the ExpressVPN prices and subscription plans in Canada:

Subscription Plan ExpressVPN Price
Free Trial 7-day free trial for Android and iOS users
1-Month Plan CA$16.71 ($12.95)
6-Month Plan CA$12.89/mo ($9.99/mo)
1-Year Plan CA$8.6/mo ($6.67/mo)
Money-Back Guarantee 30 days

We only recommend subscribing to the one-month plan if you are merely testing out the service. It is smarter not to put more money at stake (although the money-back guarantee never fails!). You will be paying CA$16.71 ($12.95) a month for this subscription plan.

The monthly price drops to CA$12.89 ($9.99) if you sign up for the 6-month plan. In all honesty, the price is fairly expensive than other VPN providers but ExpressVPN is also the only VPN with a half-year plan. Considering this, the plan might appeal to some users in Canada.

The best value for ExpressVPN price comes with the 1-year subscription plan, where you will get a 49% discount at CA$8.6/mo ($6.67/mo). By signing up for this plan, you can claim 3 months of free ExpressVPN on a 12-month subscription plan. To say it simply, you will be saving quite some cash.

Pro Tip: You get better discounts on lengthier subscription plans.

It is also worth mentioning that several cheap VPNs crank up prices even higher than ExpressVPN upon renewal. Top-tier VPNs like NordVPN and Surfshark also offer tempting introductory prices but once the first term is over, you will experience higher pricing plans. You do not see an increase in ExpressVPN pricing for a long time.

ExpressVPN has straightforward pricing plans in Canada. In terms of payment methods, ExpressVPN offers a good selection of payment methods. You can pay for ExpressVPN using several local and international payment methods because it accepts payment via PayPal, debit card, online transfers, Bitcoin, and other cryptocurrencies.

Payment providers such as Yandex Money, AliPay, Web Money, and others can also be used to pay for your subscription in Canada. Most importantly, Bitcoin support pleased us because it allows secure and anonymous payments.

methods-of-payment-for-expressvpn-ca

ExpressVPN offers several methods of payment.

If you are not ready to risk your money, you can also get started with the ExpressVPN free trial 7 days (lasts 7 days) by downloading the app on your iOS or Android device. As all the plans come with a 30-day no-questions-asked refund policy, you can simply request the money back within 30 days if ExpressVPN doesn’t seem to work out for you. Remember that this charge-back only works once.

Unlike other VPNs, the cancelation process is direct for ExpressVPN. While testing for ExpressVPN Review, we did not experience any unprofessionalism and got the money back within 6 days. There is no investigation on how much you have availed the service, and you’re directly catered by the team.

New subscribers are not lured in with a lower price point, so ExpressVPN is worth it for Canadian users!

Security: Is ExpressVPN Safe and Private for Canadian Users?

Yes, ExpressVPN is extremely safe and private to use in Canada because user data is transmitted via an AES-256 bit encrypted tunnel, the same VPN encryption standard used by the US government and security experts to secure top-secret information. This encryption standard is impenetrable by third parties and maintains online privacy.

ExpressVPN uses a 4096-bit SHA-512 RSA certificate and leverages the military-grade encryption standard of AES-256-CBC to make its control channel and HMAC impenetrable. Such solid encryption standards ensure that the data is not altered by an attacker who may be able to read it. We confirmed this feature by inspecting the OpenVPN config files, and it was really true.

For the OpenVPN protocol, ExpressVPN uses AES-256-CBC ciphers with HMAC SHA-256 data authentication on the data channel and AES-256-GCM ciphers with RSA-384 handshake and HMAC SHA-256 data authentication on the control channel.

There’s also a Perfect Forward Secrecy feature provided via the DH-2048 Diffie-Hellman key exchange that ensures even more protection by giving a new session key on every connection.

Not just this, you are also given a new key after every 60 minutes. That helps ensure the secrecy of your connection even if it may have been compromised, so all they will have access to is a 60-minute session’s data till they are booted.

ExpressVPN is backed with many obfuscated servers, making it an excellent China VPN. Obfuscated servers let Canadian users in China cloak the fact that they’re using a VPN and bypass regional restrictions.

Moreover, ExpressVPN is one of the very few VPNs to be certified by the ioXT Alliance for their top-notch security standards. Of course, it is not practical to be testing the VPN yourself so such tests are a great heads-up to use the VPN with confidence.

Running its zero-knowledge 256-bit encrypted DNS on all its servers is commendable because then you do not have to rely on the extremely-vulnerable OpenDNS or other third parties for DNS services. Using third-party DNS services is extremely unsafe because they may store your DNS requests, appeal to online hackers, and may even alter your requests in real-time.

To prove that ExpressVPN does not leak DNS information, we used ipleak.net on 8 different global servers for ExpressVPN Review. The IP/DNS leak tests proved that ExpressVPN does not leak any personally identifiable information, so you cannot be traced.

This means the sites and apps you use remain hidden from unauthorized third parties. The ExpressVPN apps come with a DNS checker tool as well. ExpressVPN also cleared WebRTC and HTTP request leaks on the following online tools:

ExpressVPN-WebRTC-Leak-Test-ca

No WebRTC leaks were detected during the tests.

For DNS leaks, ExpressVPN successfully cleared the tests on these online tools:

ExpressVPN-DNS-Leak-Test-ca

The original US IP stayed hidden during the tests.

We went ahead to test for IPv4/IPv6 and torrent IP leaks for ExpressVPN review. ExpressVPN cleared the tests on these tools:

ExpressVPN-Complete-Privacy-Analysis-ca

Our Canadian IP was detected while we were actually in the US.

After testing, we concluded that your IP, DNS, and WebRTC remain leak-free at all times for Canadian users, regardless of which server you connect to.

ExpressVPN is the best solution for you if want to access dark web as it offers privacy and security to the utmost level. You can also use ExpressVPN on the Tor Browser without any difficulty in Canada.

Whenever your VPN-secured connection drops in Canada, the Network Lock kill switch automatically protects your sensitive data. It is an effective and reliable solution to cut your internet traffic till your connection is restored. The automatic kill switch of ExpressVPN is more useful for torrenting, making ExpressVPN rank among the best VPNs for torrenting.

The audit was conducted by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) and tested in-depth ExpressVPN’s latest TrustedServer RAM infrastructure, which is created specifically for supporting their no logs commitment. Best of all is ExpressVPN’s 100% RAM-only servers.

This means your data is not stored on hard disk servers but is kept more secure and protected with these servers. We say this because data can be retrieved from hard disk servers, even after a complete wipeout.

To play its role in building understanding, strengthening trust, and mitigating risks for VPN users, ExpressVPN has partnered as a founding member of the VPN Trust Initiative (VTI). This initiative from i2Coalition seeks to build a community of cooperation in the privacy industry to provide insights regarding VPNs’ best practices and technical standards.

It will collectively serve as a voice of the VPN industry, helping consumers be more informed about their VPN choices while gaining more knowledge about appropriate guidelines.

To ensure that Canadian users remain completely secure, we also checked all of their apps on VirusTotal.com for any viruses, malware, or engines for ExpressVPN Review for Canadian users. All the tests came out squeaky clean, indicating that ExpressVPN is a good option.

virustotal-tests-for-expressvpn-ca

No virus was detected on any of the ExpressVPN apps.

On the basis of ExpressVPN’s location, security audit, warrant canary, and logging policy, our in-depth analysis reveals that the provider is suitable for privacy-conscious users in Canada.

Logging Policy: Is ExpressVPN Legit?

ExpressVPN avoids keeping any logs, so it is certainly a legitimate VPN service for Canadian users. The provider logs no metadata, user browsing history, user’s own/real IP or that of the VPN server connected to, and DNS queries.

The no-logs policy is also stated clearly on the official website.

expressvpn-does-not-log-data-ca

ExpressVPN does not collect personally identifiable user information.

On 19th December 2016, the Russian ambassador of Turkey was assassinated and the off-duty cop responsible deleted his social media accounts using ExpressVPN. Upon seizing servers, no logging information was found, verifying that ExpressVPN is indeed a logless provider (read the official statement here).

Speed: How Fast is ExpressVPN on Different Servers?

Typically, VPNs drop your connections to about 15-20% but ExpressVPN showed a drop of only 10% on its faraway servers. The browsing and streaming experience remained nearly similar on local and distant servers with ExpressVPN, thereby making it the fastest VPN.

Even the most privacy-conscious users cannot compromise on connection speeds. For a lag-free VPN connection, ExpressVPN uses the Lightway and WireGuard protocols. Although several VPN services are using these modern protocols, not all provide impressive speeds. But, ExpressVPN is staying true to all its claims by providing rapid connection speeds with iron-clad protection.

We tested the speed on a Microsoft Windows 11 Pro machine and connected it to two nearby locations (servers in the US and UK). To test the speeds, we connected to 5 different servers and ran the speed tests on Ookla. To be really sure of our ExpressVPN Lightway protocol review, we repeated the same process thrice. We went through the same procedure using OpenVPN as well for our ExpressVPN review.

Kicking off on our 100Mbps internet connection, the OpenVPN connections were considerably faster with an average speed of around 96Mbps. While reviewing the Lightway protocol, the speed hit a whopping 100Mbps.

Our ExpressVPN Speed Test revealed that the provider delivered 91.81Mbps in downloads and 89.16Mbps in uploads on average. The provider manages to defy all odds and offer commendable speeds for Canadian users. Testing different server locations on Ookla for our ExpressVPN Review revealed phenomenal results:

Server Download Upload Ping
US 96.23Mbps 91.22Mbps 66ms
UK 91.43Mbps 90.49Mbps 59ms
Australia 90.18Mbps 88.99Mbps 62ms
Germany 89.69Mbps 85.72Mbps 79ms
France 91.55Mbps 89.41Mbps 71ms
Average 91.81Mbps 89.16Mbps 67ms

We used ExpressVPN on our smartphone and laptop while working from home. ExpressVPN impressed us with unbeatable connection speeds on both our devices. We tested it for browsing the internet and streaming videos in HD. Safe to say, we did not have to sit through annoying lags or buffering.

The speeds were great even when connecting to different servers in different locations. We connected to the US, UK, Canada, Germany, and more. Without a doubt, ExpressVPN is blazing fast. However, suppose your internet speed is already slow. In that case, we don’t recommend using a VPN at all as it might take forever to carry out your important activities with a snail-like connection.

Although the built-in speed test has been removed for Windows, you can still find it on the Mac app. To run an ExpressVPN speed test, click on the hamburger menu and select Speed Test. You’ll be able to test either the recommended servers or all the servers. Make sure your VPN is disconnected in order for it to work. Click on the Run Test button to carry on with the speed test.

built-in-speed-test-on-mac-ca

ExpressVPN’s built-in Speed Test feature is available on the Mac app.

Once the test is finished, you’ll be able to see the results for Downloading Speed, Ping (Latency), and Speed Index (ranks the download speed).

Most of the time, people use VPNs to bypass geo-restricted content of other countries by connecting to those countries’ location servers. But if that’s not the case and you only want to use a VPN to hide your online activity and stay anonymous on the open web, then go for a local server of ExpressVPN.

Connect to a server of your own country. In this way, you’ll get exceptional speed while carrying out your activities. You see, the nearer your physical location is to the VPN server, the higher the speed you will achieve.

Even if you connect to a server in another country that is located far away from your physical location, you’ll still get high-speed internet. We connected to a German server from my location and we were surprised to see no considerable drops in the speed.

For ExpressVPN protocols, you get the following options:

  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. IKEv2
  3. Lightway
  4. L2TP/IPsec
expressvpn-protocol-settings-ca

Protocols on the ExpressVPN Windows app.

OpenVPN (TCP/UDP): OpenVPN is an open-source protocol that gives a balance between speed and security. This protocol is mainly trusted by most VPN users. If you select OpenVPN (UDP) then it’s faster. But it’s not sure that a hundred percent of your data will be delivered. Also, you can get blocked too. UDP is mostly used when you’re streaming or gaming.

TCP is stronger than UDP as it guarantees 100% data delivery. It can retransmit the packets that are lost in the delivery, but TCP is slower than UDP. It is mostly used for browsing, emailing, or file transfer.

IKEv2: IKEv2 uses IPsec for its encryption part. This protocol is mainly used by users who switch a lot between their mobile data and the Wi-Fi network. The main characteristic of this protocol is the reconnection capability. Moreover, it is faster and lighter as it consumes less CPU power than OpenVPN.

Lightway: Lightway is ExpressVPN’s own-developed protocol. It has the reconnecting capability of IKEv2 and security like OpenVPN with the addition of TCP support. It is fast, reliable, and secure. It only has 1900+ lines of code and uses less CPU power to operate. Lightway has also been audited by Cure53.

L2TP/IPsec: L2TP is a Tunneling protocol and IPsec is used for the encryption process. It’s a native protocol of most devices and operating systems like iOS, Android, Windows, and macOS. You should only opt for this protocol when Lightway or OpenVPN is unavailable. It is fast but not totally secure. It has three ports so you might experience getting blocked easily. L2TP/IPsec only works well with higher CPU power and a fast connection.

Torrenting: Is ExpressVPN Safe for Torrenting for Canadians?

Yes, ExpressVPN is your safest bet for downloading torrents anonymously for Canadians. It’s because ExpressVPN truly swaps your real IP with a temporary IP address of the server you connect to. Most of ExpressVPN’s servers are P2P-friendly, with dedicated apps for all the major devices.

ExpressVPN is a leak-free and fast provider, making it a solid option for downloading torrents (backed by our testing). The higher levels of security and blazing-fast connection speeds made ExpressVPN excellent for torrenting.

If you feel that other apps are getting affected by the VPN connection (torrent client), then simply enable the split-tunneling feature. This lets you separate the VPN traffic and other apps, ensuring a smooth VPN connection. As there are no bandwidth caps, you do not have to sit through a throttled connection.

You can use their apps to download torrents from anywhere and on any device, with features like kill switch and split tunneling further enhancing the experience.

Streaming: Does ExpressVPN Work for Netflix? Other VoDs?

Yes, ExpressVPN flawlessly works with Netflix and other popular platforms in Canada like Hulu, BBC iPlayer, and Disney Plus. The fast servers ensure throttle-free access to most streaming services.

One of the most common uses of VPNs is accessing restricted content on Netflix, Amazon Prime, and others. ExpressVPN does not hesitate to boast about its impressive unblocking potential on the official website.

To test ExpressVPN’s claims, we went ahead to unblock Netflix. Netflix has the most advanced location-detection system to block out VPN IPs early and often. However, our tests revealed that ExpressVPN still works with Netflix!

If you are digging around for the best servers to access different libraries, then our list of working ExpressVPN Netflix servers will help.

5 Working Servers for Netflix US

  1. Los Angeles 5 (Ultra HD)
  2. New Jersey 3 (Ultra HD)
  3. Los Angeles 4 (Ultra HD)
  4. New Jersey 1 (Ultra HD)
  5. New York 2 (Ultra HD)

4 Working Servers for Netflix UK

  1. Berkshire – 2 (Ultra HD)
  2. Berkshire (Ultra HD)
  3. London (Ultra HD)
  4. Kent (Ultra HD)

2 Working Servers for Netflix JP

  1. Tokyo 1 (Ultra HD)
  2. Tokyo 3 (Ultra HD)

2 Working Servers for Netflix DE

  1. Nuremberg (Ultra HD)
  2. Frankfurt – 2 (Ultra HD)

Next, for our ExpressVPN review, we tested Amazon Prime, BBC iPlayer, and Disney Plus by connecting to multiple servers. We repeated the process five times to confirm our findings for Canadian users.

Real-time customer support is exceptionally great at resolving user concerns related to unblocking these platforms. While facing an issue on one server, we talked to the live chat agent and got a quick fix that immediately worked.

For streaming, the unique smartDNS Media Streamer feature takes the trophy home. MediaStreamer is a smartDNS tool of ExpressVPN that spoofs your real location and lets you access geo-blocked TV series and movies. However, MediaStreamer does not encrypt your internet traffic like a regular VPN.

The MediaStreamer feature lets you watch restricted content on VPN-incompatible devices such as ExpressVPN Apple TV, Roku, other gaming consoles, and streaming sticks. We tested this feature and absolutely enjoyed the device variety.

How to Watch Netflix with ExpressVPN?

Follow these steps to watch ExpressVPN Netflix:

  1. Open ExpressVPN and log in with your credentials.
  2. Select a server in your preferred Netflix region.
  3. You should see a new Netflix library now. Start streaming!

Important: You need to have an active Netflix subscription for this process to work. As you change VPN servers, you will access a new regional library while using your local payment method!

Does ExpressVPN Unblock 40+ Platforms, Including Netflix, Hulu, & Disney Plus?

Yes, ExpressVPN is an excellent option to unblock 40+ streaming platforms for Canadian users like Netflix, Hulu, Disney Plus, Amazon Prime, Disney+ Hotstar, DAZN, and HBO Max.

With global server coverage, unlimited bandwidth, and unbeatable connection speeds, ExpressVPN is the best streaming VPN. More than that, ExpressVPN regularly updates its pool of IP addresses. So if an IP ever gets blocked, ExpressVPN replaces it with another one.

However, a minor inconvenience with ExpressVPN is that it only unblocks a few regional libraries of Netflix. We checked over 50 servers to confirm that ExpressVPN bypassed geo-restrictions on the platforms listed on its website, including:

Netflix Hulu fuboTV HBO Max Rakuten Viki Spotify AT&T TV
Peacock Disney+ YouTube TV Sling TV BBC IPlayer Crackle Kodi
Apple TV NOW TV YouTube Showtime 6play ITV IPTV
Pluto TV Zattoo UKTV DAZN Channel 4 UKTV Locast
Hotstar DStv beIN Sports Prime Video ORF Rai Play CBC Gem
Crave Sky TV Crunchyroll Discovery+ Globoplay ProSieben Vudu

ExpressVPN has 3000+ servers in 94+ countries globally, and 5 server locations in Canada. This is among the highest numbers of servers sported, second to CyberGhost and NordVPN.

Such a large server network made sure that we experienced no bandwidth or crowding issues on any server connected during our streaming tests for ExpressVPN review. Since the network is well-distributed as well, you will always have a server located close to you; whether you are in Luxembourg, Calcutta, or Hong Kong, it does not matter.

In the upcoming section, you will find details of ExpressVPN’s performance while unblocking different streaming platforms.

Netflix is the world’s leading streaming platform, with over 220.67 million subscribers. And while it’s available in 190 countries, not the same content is available in each country. That’s why you’ll need a VPN to unblock Netflix and watch your favorite shows and movies from anywhere in the world in Canada.

ExpressVPN is one of the best choices for Canadian users, as it’s consistently able to unblock Netflix and has high speeds for HD streaming. Some users may get the proxy error while unblocking their favorite content on Netflix because of its strong location-detection system. But the proactive customer support can guide you through the proxy errors with simple troubleshooting tips.

We tested ExpressVPN with Netflix and were able to connect to servers in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, France, Germany, Japan, and more. The Docklands server easily unblocked Netflix UK, letting us watch Back to Life without interruption. Not only this, we could unblock more than 19 Netflix libraries using different servers of ExpressVPN.

expressvpn-unblocked-netflix-ca

ExpressVPN easily worked for unblocking the regional libraries of Netflix.

The video started in nano-seconds and the streaming quality was top-notch. No buffering screens were witnessed, and our final verdict is that ExpresVPN for Netflix is excellent!

Then we tried to unblock Disney Plus on 5 different server locations. Safe to say, ExpressVPN easily unblocked Disney Plus on all of them. We instantly accessed ExpressVPN Disney Plus Canada on the Toronto server and streamed The Mandalorian. The picture quality was exceptional, and we experienced no buffers and lags.

expressvpn-unblocked-disney-plus-ca

All Disney+ movies and shows were quickly accessed on the Toronto server.

Moreover, we successfully unblocked more content on Disney+ with other ExpressVPN servers in Canada, Australia, and Italy.

Next on our list were Amazon Prime and Hulu. We were able to access Amazon Prime Video on the US, Canada, and Germany servers. During our rigorous tests, no lags were experienced and the video quality remained consistently great.

When we moved to test the UK servers for our ExpressVPN review, we could not unblock Amazon Prime Video initially. So we directly contacted their support team and received a few fixes. We cleared the cookies and cache but it did not work, so then we just switched our browser. Switching the browser did the job for us, and we accessed Amazon Prime UK easily.

Besides the UK servers, ExpressVPN worked exceptionally well with Amazon Prime.

We were also successful in unblocking Hulu with ExpressVPN. Normally, Hulu does not work with VPNs but ExpressVPN proved us otherwise. We tried 5 different servers, and all were able to unblock Hulu. The video played within seconds when we connected to the New York server.

With ExpressVPN, it was a hassle-free experience to bypass the geo-block on HBO Max. The quality of the video was excellent, and there were no glitches throughout our testing. We switched to 4 different servers and unblocked HBO Max in under 5 seconds.

hbo-max-unblocked-with-expressvpn-ca

We enjoyed watching exclusive HBO Max content without any streaming buffer.

We were surprised to see that ExpressVPN unblocked BBC iPlayer without any issues. To confirm this, we tried unblocking on 4 different UK servers, and all of them offered a buffer-free streaming experience. Throughout the testing, we observed that ExpressVPN focuses on the performance of all its servers.

ExpressVPN servers also unblock Kodi, Crunchyroll, Peacock, and ESPN+ without interruption. Although the video quality slightly dropped while streaming Peacock TV, but it improved after 5-6 seconds with HQ. While testing, ExpressVPN let us watch the live streaming on ESPN+ with zero lags.

One of our favorite Mangas, Attack on Titan, worked like a charm on Crunchyroll with the ExpressVPN servers. After intensive testing, ExpressVPN emerged as a great option for HD-quality streaming at exceptional speeds.

Pro Tip: Wait a few seconds for the video quality to improve on some streaming platforms.

How’s ExpressVPN’s Desktop Version?

ExpressVPN is available on all the major desktop operating systems in Canada including Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Windows and macOS

The ExpressVPN app for Mac and Windows is quite similar. However, the recent ExpressVPN update has deleted the built-in speed test option from Windows app, but the macOS app still has it. Other than that, the color scheme varies in both these ExpressVPN apps.

On both the Windows and macOS apps, there is the main window with a round “Connect” button in the middle. Moreover, you can add shortcuts and connect to the recent servers. Choosing other options will open a new window on the side.

Linux

The Linux app uses the command-line interface to carry out all the operations. You can easily choose a server by listing them in the terminal. Moreover, you can use the app in your browser extension if you don’t like to operate ExpressVPN from Terminal.

There is one difference in features between Linux and Windows-Mac apps, the split tunneling feature. The Linux version of ExpressVPN doesn’t have the split tunneling feature, while both Windows and mac apps have it. Even after lacking this feature, ExpressVPN is still one of the most compatible VPNs for Linux.

How’s ExpressVPN’s Mobile App in Canada?

ExpressVPN’s mobile apps are available for both Android and iOS devices in Canada. The interface of the app is different from the desktop app but it’s still simple and straightforward.

While both have the Auto-Connect option and choice for connecting to different protocols, the Android app has more features than the iOS. We couldn’t find split-tunneling, kill switch, or shortcuts feature on iOS while the Android app had them.

Overall, the mobile apps for ExpressVPN were user-friendly and responsive.

How’s ExpressVPN’s Browser Extension in Canada?

ExpressVPN has browser extensions on Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox, and Google Chrome. You can use it on your computer’s browser if you only need a lightweight option to hide your browsing activity.

Moreover, you can customize it the way that when you open your browser, it would immediately connect you to a VPN server.

Customer Support: What Customer Support Does ExpressVPN Offer?

The best customer support in the entire VPN industry is offered by ExpressVPN. Every single query or question is answered by extremely well-trained executives. In fact, the ExpressVPN support team is readily available to assist you in case you want to cancel your subscription.

However, customer support does not just end there with live chat support. If you are looking for an instant solution, there is a troubleshooting page available too.

customer-support-options-on-expressvpn-ca

You can reach out to ExpressVPN customer support through these options.

Here you can find all information about how to get started with the service, the usage of different features, and frequently asked questions (FAQs) regarding the VPN.

You can always visit the setup tutorials page if the above options are not helpful enough. Here you can receive manual guides on how to set the VPN up on different platforms.

Compatibility: Can I Use ExpressVPN on All My Devices in Canada?

Yes, you can use ExpressVPN on almost all your devices in Canada because it comes with dedicated apps.

As it is highly compatible with most devices, it is often ranked among the best VPNs for Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, and Firestick. You can use ExpressVPN on 5 devices simultaneously.

Installation and Setup: How Do I Install ExpressVPN in Canada?

Here’s how you can install ExpressVPN in Canada:

  • Go to the official website and click on the “Get ExpressVPN” button.
  • Select a suitable plan.
  • Enter your email address and select the preferred method of payment.
  • Complete the checkout process and save all login information.
  • Click on the “products” tab on the top fold of the website.
  • Select the device you want to use ExpressVPN on.
  • Download the app with a simple click!

How to Install ExpressVPN on Amazon Firestick?

You can install ExpressVPN on Amazon Firestick by following these steps:

  • On the Firestick home screen, search for the “ExpressVPN” app.
  • Click “Download” or “Get” and wait for the process to complete.
  • Once the download completes, open the VPN app.
  • Sign in using your ExpressVPN login credentials

Note: For detailed steps, consider checking out our ExpressVPN setup on Firestick guide!

How to Install ExpressVPN for Kodi?

Follow these simple steps to install ExpressVPN for Kodi:

  • Sign up with ExpressVPN by getting a subscription.
  • Download the VPN app for the device you are using Kodi on.
  • Sign in with your login details.
  • Select a server location and connect to it.
  • Launch Kodi and enjoy streaming safely on your device!

Still confused? Go through our dedicated setup guide for Kodi!

How to Set Up ExpressVPN on Roku?

ExpressVPN doesn’t have a native VPN app for Roku, nor does the Roku OS support VPN apps. But you can still use ExpressVPN on Roku by these methods:

  • Directly install ExpressVPN on your router and connect your Roku device to that network’s Wi-Fi.
  • Create a virtual router with ExpressVPN on your computer and share the connection with your Roku device via Wi-Fi or ethernet.
  • Cast the content of your VPN-enabled phone on your Roku-connected TV screen.

If ExpressVPN does not meet your expectations, consider checking out other top VPNs for Roku.

How to Use ExpressVPN on Samsung TV?

Samsung TV uses the Tizen OS, which doesn’t support VPN apps. So we’ll need to work around using ExpressVPN on Samsung TV. Here are the methods you can go for.

  • Install ExpressVPN directly on your router and connect your Samsung TV to that network.
  • Create a virtual router with your Windows or Mac PC and share a connection to your Samsung TV.
  • Use ExpressVPN’s MediaStreamer feature to watch geo-restricted content. (This is not an alternative for a VPN and your traffic won’t be encrypted with this method).

How to Install ExpressVPN on Linux?

Follow these easy steps to install ExpressVPN on Linux:

  • Open your favorite browser and go to the ExpressVPN Linux page.
  • Sign in with your ExpressVPN account.
  • Select your Linux distribution and architecture (32 or 64-bit).
  • Click on “Download“.
  • Copy the “Activation Code” from your ExpressVPN dashboard, you’ll need it while installing ExpressVPN on your Linux system.
  • Once the file is downloaded, launch it and paste the Activation Code you copied earlier to continue the Setup Process.

How to Use ExpressVPN with YouTube TV?

Here’s how to use ExpressVPN with YouTube TV:

  • Sign up for an ExpressVPN subscription plan.
  • Install ExpressVPN either on your hand-held device or computer.
  • Launch the app and sign in to your ExpressVPN account.
  • Connect to a US server (Recommended: New York server).
  • Open Youtube TV and start watching your favorite content!

What are its Interface and Ease of Use?

ExpressVPN is extremely focused on ensuring ease of use for its subscribers. Dedicated apps are available for all major platforms like Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, and iOS. So, you can use it on any of your devices without any hassle in Canada.

Platform Our Verdict
Mac Standard VPN app with custom features
Windows Standard VPN app with custom features
Mobile User-friendly app with non-custom features
Browser Extensions for Edge, Firefox, and Chrome
Linux Command-line interface

The interface of ExpressVPN is so simple and straightforward that even a new user can figure it out without any problem. You just need to select your desired location from the list of servers and hit the “connect” button. That’s it!

There are some other options like “split tunneling” and “protocol,” but you don’t need to worry about them if you’re just a regular user.

ExpressVPN Review: FAQs

Is ExpressVPN owned by China?

No, ExpressVPN is not owned by China. It is a VPN service that is located in the British Virgin Islands.

Does ExpressVPN offer dedicated IP addresses in Canada?

No, ExpressVPN does not offer dedicated IP addresses in Canada. It’s because ExpressVPN frequently refreshes its pool of IP addresses. Whenever you connect to a server, you are assigned the most suitable IP address depending on your network and location. It could be a fresh IP address or a completely new one.

As dedicated IPs by ExpressVPN are not possible, you can consider NordVPN or CyberGhost as they offer dedicated IPs.

Is ExpressVPN better than NordVPN in Canada?

ExpressVPN is better than NordVPN in Canada because it offers consistently-fast connection speeds across all its servers and over 100 more server locations. But if the price is a defining factor for finding the winner of the ExpressVPN vs. NordVPN debate, go for NordVPN.

Is using ExpressVPN legal in Canada?

Yes, it is legal to use ExpressVPN in Canada. However, illegal activities remain illegal even when you use a VPN to conduct them. VPN usage is banned in many countries, including Russia, China, Iraq, and North Korea.

It is recommended to see your country’s laws regarding VPN usage to know what you are getting into.

How to set up ExpressVPN on a router in Canada?

To use ExpressVPN on your router in Canada, download the right firmware version of your router from the ExpressVPN website. Once you’re done installing the firmware version, easily set up ExpressVPN on your router.

Check out our detailed ExpressVPN setup guide for routers. You will find step-by-step installation for compatible as well as incompatible routers.

How to pay ExpressVPN with Bitcoin?

To pay for ExpressVPN with Bitcoin, go to the ExpressVPN website > Choose a subscription plan > Enter your email address > Select “Bitcoin” as your preferred method of payment > Click “Continue to BitPay“.

Making payments via Bitcoin is recommended for completely anonymous transactions.

How do I check my ExpressVPN speed in Canada?

To check your ExpressVPN speed in Canada, connect to an ExpressVPN server and run a speed test on Ookla. ExpressVPN no longer offers the built-in Speed Test feature. Otherwise, this option would have been extremely useful for checking the speed within the app.

Why is ExpressVPN so slow in Canada?

If the internet speed is slow with ExpressVPN in Canada, the probable reasons could be:

  • You are connected to a distant server.
  • You have slow internet.
  • Your device (mobile or computer) is not functioning well with your chosen VPN protocol.

Why ExpressVPN is expensive in Canada?

To say it simply, ExpressVPN justifies the price tag by being worth the price in Canada. The company maintains top-notch security standards and an advancing network, which is what the subscribers are paying for.

What are the cons of ExpressVPN in Canada?

ExpressVPN is overall a great VPN in Canada, but there are some cons:

  • Pricier subscription plans
  • Now owned by a conglomerate (Kape Technologies)
  • Occasional slow speeds with OpenVPN
  • Lesser features than other VPNs

Why ExpressVPN is not working on the phone in Canada?

If the ExpressVPN app is not working on your phone in Canada, then it is because of these reasons:

  • VPN service is under maintenance.
  • VPN is probably blocked by antivirus.
  • You do not have the latest ExpressVPN app.
  • VPN server is overloaded.

Why is my ExpressVPN blocking my internet in Canada?

ExpressVPN automatically blocks your internet in Canada if the network gets disrupted via its Network Lock kill switch. Network Lock is ExpressVPN’s built-in kill switch which is designed to protect your privacy. It blocks all internet traffic when the VPN connection is dropped.

If your internet is disabled, then it might be because the VPN connection has accidentally dropped. Wait for the VPN connection to restore again and you’ll go online. You can also disconnect Network Lock if you want, go to the VPN settings and turn off Network Lock.

Is ExpressVPN the fastest in Canada?

Yes, ExpressVPN is the fastest VPN in Canada we have tested to date. While all VPNs can potentially slow down your connection, ExpressVPN displays negligible speed drops as it uses a variety of protocols, including OpenVPN, L2TP/IPsec, IKEv2, and Lightway, to ensure you get the fastest speeds possible.

Does ExpressVPN work in China?

Yes, ExpressVPN works in China. The provider does not have server locations in China, so it does not have to abide by the intrusive data-retention laws of China.

How do I cancel my ExpressVPN subscription in Canada?

To cancel your ExpressVPN subscription in Canada, follow these steps:

  • Go to Settings on your device.
  • Now select Subscription > ExpressVPN subscription.
  • Hit Cancel subscription.

ExpressVPN Review: Conclusion

There’s no doubt in saying that ExpressVPN is a top-tier VPN product with all the necessary features. We say with complete confidence that ExpressVPN is blazing fast and extremely reliable for conducting data-intensive activities such as gaming, torrenting, or streaming. Backed with privacy-focused policies, ExpressVPN is a well-rounded VPN service for Canadian users in 2022!

While testing, we easily unblocked all the streaming platforms and streamed in HD without lag. Even if we faced technical glitches, the support team was there to sort it out for us. For faraway servers, ExpressVPN is the most suitable VPN.

More than that, user data is well-protected using AES 256-bit encryption. To top it all, ExpressVPN passed all our DNS/IP leak tests in the first go. That’s why we recommend leveraging its 30-day money-back guarantee to try the service risk-free!

Leave a Reply

Rate the Review*

Your email address will not be published.